New Jersey

Mayor’s Meeting Opens with 4 NJ Mayors in Washington

WASHINGTON-The 86th winter meeting of Mayors in Washington, DC started at noon today with a kick-off meeting of mayors.

Just four of the 109 mayors invited to meet with President Donald Trump at the 2018 Mayor’s Winter Conference today are from New Jersey. Those mayors include East Rutherford’s James Cassella, Hope’s Timothy McDonough, Woodbine’s William Pikolycky and Jackson’s Michael Reina.

Jersey’s small-town mayors will be in attendance with mayors from cities such as Dallas, Rochester, Tampa, Oklahoma City, New York City, San Diego and others.

The agenda for the discussions over the next few days will revolve around how Washington can help Smalltown, USA to move forward on many infrastructure projects.

New Orleans Mayor Mitch Landrieu opened the meeting by saying Americans see chaos and confusion from Washington, D.C., but it is America’s mayors who are in the trenches representing the people of America.

“Mayors are forced with no choice but to govern but we have to govern in real time despite what’s going on in Washington.  We’re hoping to find partners in Washington to get the job done,” Landrieu said.

This afternoon’s keynote speaker, Chicago Mayor Rahm Emanuel said education is the key to America’s future.  In Chicago, if you maintain a B average, Emanuel said those students get free college tuition.

“If you get a B average in high school, community college is free,” Emanuel said, “Every kid has a chance at the American dream…regardless of what neighborhood you’re from.”

Whether or not the local mayors will have the chance to pitch their infrastructure projects to Trump or his department representatives is unknown at this point.

“While some send out tweets, we are fixing the streets,” a representative of the U.S. Conference of Mayors said today.

Mayors in attendance…President Trump will meet with the conference in the East Wing at 3:20 pm.


CA Danville Mayor Newell Arnerich
TX Garland Mayor Douglas Athas
GA Dallas Mayor Boyd Austin, Jr.
MI Rochester Hills Mayor Bryan Barnett
TN Nashville Mayor Megan Barry
SC Columbia Mayor Steve Benjamin
MO Branson Mayor Karen Best
GA Dublin Mayor Phil Best
MS Meridian Mayor Percy Bland, II
OH Rocky River Mayor Pamela Bobst
GA Johns Creek Mayor Michael Bodker
UT Sandy City Mayor Kurt Bradburn
CA Fresno Mayor Lee Brand
FL Tampa Mayor Robert Buckhorn
IA Dubuque Mayor Roy Buol
PA Williamsport Mayor Dr. Gabriel Campana
NJ East Rutherford Mayor James Cassella
FL Key West Mayor Craig Cates
OR Happy Valley Mayor Lori Chavez-DeRemer
CA San Ramon Mayor William Clarkson
MT Billings Mayor William Cole
OH Highland Heights Mayor Scott Coleman
KS Olathe Mayor Michael Copeland
OK Oklahoma City Mayor Michael Cornett
AL Oxford Mayor Alton Craft
IL Hanover Park Mayor Rodney Craig
FL Clearwater Mayor George Cretekos
NV Carson City Mayor Robert Crowell
NY Binghamton Mayor Richard David
CA San Bernardino Mayor Carey Davis
GA Augusta Mayor Hardie Davis, Jr.
NY New York City Mayor Bill De Blasio
GA Athens Mayor Nancy Denson
MI Detroit Mayor Michael Duggan
MS Prentiss Mayor Charles Dumas
GA Sugar Hill Mayor Steven Edwards
TX Carrolton Mayor Kevin Falconer
MO St. Joesph Mayor William Falkner
CA San Diego Mayor Kevin Faulconer
KY Louisville Mayor Greg Fischer
MS Vicksburg Mayor George Flaggs, Jr
MI Warren Mayor James Fouts
TX McKinney Mayor George Fuller
MS Crystal Springs Mayor Sally Garland
AZ Mesa Mayor John Giles
MS Biloxi Mayor Andrew Gilich, Jr
NV Las Vegas Mayor Carolyn Goodman
FL Ocala Mayor Reuben Guinn
CO Denver Mayor Michael Hancock
CT New Haven Mayor Toni Harp
MO Harrisonville Mayor Brian Hasek
CA Dublin Mayor David Haubert
FL Boca Raton Mayor Susan Haynie
FL Pensacola Mayor Ashton Hayward
FL Fort Myers Mayor Randall Henderson
MS Gulfport Mayor Billy Hewes
MS Louisiville Mayor William Hill
CO Aurora Mayor Stephen Hogan
CA Cerritos Mayor Grace Hu
GA Albany Mayor Dorothy Hubbard
AL Cullman Mayor Woody Jenkins
MN Burnsville Mayor Elizabeth Kautz
IA Davenport Mayor Frank Klipsch
OH Bay Village Mayor Paul Koomar
GA Atlanta Mayor Keisha Lance Bottoms
LA New Orleans Mayor Mitchell Landrieu
TX Plano Mayor Harry LaRosiliere
FL Hollywood Mayor Joshua Levy
NC Charlotte Mayor Viola Lyles
CA Livermore Mayor John Marchand
GA Loganville Mayor Reynaldo Martinez
WI Racine Mayor Cory Mason
MS Pascagoula Mayor Dane Maxwell
NJ Hope Mayor Timothy McDonough
NC Raleigh Mayor Nancy McFarlane
OH Findlay Mayor Lydia Mihalik
MA New Bedfrod Mayor Jon Mitchell
IN Greenwood Mayor Mark Myers
AZ Yuma Mayor Douglas Nicholls
OR Tualatin Mayor Louis Ogden
GA Sandy Springs Mayor Russell Paul
TX Mesquite Mayor Stanley Pickett
NJ Woodbine Mayor William Pikolycky
GA Jackson Mayor Kay Pippin
WI Brookfield Mayor Steven Ponto
TX Fort Woth Mayor Betsy Price
TX Dallas Mayor Michael Rawlings
GA Macon Mayor Robert Reichert
NJ Jackson Mayor Michael Reina
MS Flowood Mayor Gary Rhoads
GA Peachtree City Mayor Vanessa Rogers-Fleisch
TX Killeen Mayor Jose Segarra
GA Tifton Mayor Julie Smith
AR Springdale Mayor Douglas Sprouse
AL Mobile Mayor Sandy Stimpson
AR Little Rock Mayor Mark Stodola
FL Miami Mayor Francis Suarez
CO Colorado Springs Mayor John Suthers
TX Allen Mayor Stephen Terrell
CA Pleasanton Mayor Jerry Thorne
GA Lagrange Mayor James Thornton
OK Broken Arrow Mayor Craig Thurmond
CA Irvine Mayor Donald Wagner
TX Denton Mayor Christopher Watts
MI Flint Mayor Karen Weaver
AZ Glendale Mayor Jerry Weiers
GA Union City Mayor Vince Williams
TX Arlington Mayor Jeff Williams
GA Sylvester Mayor William Yearta
The following are comments people have made about this post on Facebook. Shore News Network does not own these comments, nor does it have control over the moderation of these comments. Please report offensive and harmful comments directly to Facebook using the report comments feature in the comment dropdown box.
Click to comment

You must be logged in to post a comment Login

Leave a Reply

To Top